ALFFi x DOC BC | YT | NWT | Filmmaker Roundtable: Filmmaking from a Northern POV

Join us for this special conversation about filmmaking from a distinctly northern point of view. Moderated by Sarah Spring, Executive Director of DOC National with filmmakers Melaw Nakehk’o (NWT), Naomi Mark (YT), Krista Davis (YT), Carol Geddes (YT), and Pablo Saravanja (NWT),

Following our discussion we will invite our audience to participate in a Q+A.

Meet the panelists:

Melaw Nakehk’o is a Dene/Dënesųłiné artist, community leader, actor, and director based in Yellowknife, NT. Her exemplary work in reviving and teaching moosehide tanning has initiated a resurgence of the practice and helped shape a broader movement across Canada. Her short doc K’i Tah Amongst the Birch part of ALFF 2021’s Official Selection.

Carol Geddes is an Inland Tlingit director and writer, known for Picturing a People: George Johnston, Tlingit Photographer (1997), Anash and the Legacy of the Sun-Rock (2007) and Doctor, Lawyer, Indian Chief (1986).

Krista Davis is a visual artist and filmmaker whose projects engage with the complexities of human and non-human coexistence in our age of ecological crisis. Her short doc The Salt River Water Walk is part of ALFF 2021’s Official Selection.

Naomi Mark is a Yukon-based Director / Producer who works in both fiction and documentary. Her work can be seen on both CBC and Knowledge Network.

Pablo Saravanja is a Director and co-founder of aRTLeSS Collective, Northwest Territories’ premiere production studio, and co-founder of the Dead North Film Festival.

WHEN?

Sunday, Feb 07, 2020
10am PST | 11am MST | 1pm EST

REGISTER HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.